Wednesday, June 29, 2022
HomeNewsMPs in cracking form in annual Pancake Day race

MPs in cracking form in annual Pancake Day race

Rehab Parliamentary Pancake Race at Victoria Tower Gardens, London, Britain - 09 Feb 2016IN AN egg-citing finish to the annual Rehab Parliamentary Pancake Race, the MPs’ Team wiped the opposition clean – but did leave them with just a bit of egg on their faces!

The race saw teams of MPs, Lords and from the media undertake a gruelling nine laps of Westminster, to complete the race in six minutes and eight seconds.

Funds raised from the event go towards Rehab’s brain injury centres in Birmingham and Newcastle.

MPs captain Steve Pound was brimming with pride following the declaration of the result, with Pancake Race Gold in Rio now firmly in his sights:

“Today we brought our A game—no question. For weeks we have been walking on eggshells, but the hours of pancake race bootcamp finally paid off.

“To lift the Rehab Parliamentary Pancake Race Magnificent Tin Cup really is a wonderful feeling.

“Our next challenge will be to fly the flag for Queen and country at the Olympic Games in Rio and win Pancake Race Gold for Britain—that will be a real feather in our cap.

“Of course, the race is all about supporting the work of the disability charity, Rehab, and the importance of supporting our disabled and marginalised communities. That’s one race that we must never lose sight of. Rehab are the real winners here today.”

Team Line-ups

MPs’ Team

Team captain: Steve Pound, MP for Ealing North

Victoria Atkins, MP for Louth and Horncastle

David Burrowes, MP for Enfield, Southgate

Sir Alan Duncan, MP for Rutland and Melton

Clive Lewis, MP for Norwich South

Tim Loughton, MP for East Worthing and Shoreham

Liz McInnes, MP for Heywood and Middleton

Lords’ Team

Team captain: Lord Redesdale

Lord Addington

Lord Kennedy of Southwark

The Rt Hon. the Baroness Kramer

Baroness Parminter

Lord Porter of Spalding CBE

Lord St John of Bletso

Media Team

Team captain: Caroline Wheeler, Sunday Express Political Editor

Gary Gibbon, Channel 4 News Political Editor

James Landale, Deputy Political Editor, BBC News

Jane Merrick, Independent & Independent on Sunday Columnist

Nigel Nelson, Sunday People Political Editor

George Parker, Financial Times Political Editor

Mia Reakes, Reuters TV reporter

Sophy Ridge, Sky News Senior Political Correspondent

Alastair Stewart OBE, ITV News presenter


- Advertisment -

Most Popular