SHARE

BLIND and partially-sighted computer users around England are getting a free taste of what the Internet can offer, thanks to a series of learning days funded through the Government’s Transformation Fund.

Transformation fund logo

The 50 taster sessions, spread across the country, are being organised via award-winning charity Screenreader.net, the charity, run by blind social entrepreneurs Roger and Margaret Wilson-Hinds, who won a £70,000 grant from the Government to run the informal adult learning sessions.

Instructors are blind, too, and use the innovative Thunder screen reading software, distributed free around the world by Screenreader, to make computers talk.

The idea is to show how a talking computer is the modern Braille – a gateway for learning, leisure and work.

The learning sessions are being hosted by local blind societies, UK online centres and local authorities, and will provide hands-on experience to blind and partially-sighted computer users.

www.screenreader.net/index.php?pageid=36


Screenreader.net Learning Days:

12 April – Darlington
Darlington Social Club for the Blind
73 Corporation Road
Darlington
DL3 6AD
01325 346704
Contact: Julie Lumb
E: julie.lumb@darlington.gov.uk
14 April – Southend
Southend Blind Welfare Organisation
118b Hamlet Court Road
Westcliff-on-Sea
SS0 7LP
T: 01702-342 131
Contact: Maureen Stevens
E: sbwo@tesco.net

16 April – Epsom
Action for Blind People
Swail House
Ashley Road
Epsom
Surrey KT18 5AZ
T: 01372 720742
Contact: Paul Dingwell
E: paul.dingwell@actionforblindpeople.org.uk

16 April – Bristol
Lawrence Hill Church
Lincoln Street
Bristol BS5 0BJ
Contact is: Don Jenkins
T: 0117 9559118 or 0117 9412540
M: 07964600452
Email: bethesda2009@hotmail.co.uk

22 April – Fetcham, Surrey
Surrey Association for Visual Impairment
Rentwood
School Lane
Fetcham
Surrey
KT22 9JX
T: 01372 377 701
Contact: Katie Kirton
E: info@sa-vi.org.uk

16 April and 21 May – Stockton
Blind Voice
27 Parm Road
Stockton
TS18 3NJ
T: 01642 803590
Contact: Christine Durnion
E: christine.durnion@blindvoice.co.uk

29 April – Colchester
Essex Blind Charity
Unit 11
Colchester Business Centre
1 George Williams Way
Colchester CO1 2JS
T: 01206 563072
Contact: Sue
E: sue@jessexblind.co.uk

30 April – Leeds
Leeds City College
5 Roundhay Road
Leeds LS7 3BG
T: 0113 249 4912
Contact: Ann Brook
E: ann.brook@leedscitycollege.ac.uk

4 May – Saffron Walden, Essex
Support 4 Sight
2 & 4 George Street
Saffron Walden
Essex CB10 1EQ
T: 01799 523 700
Contact:Paul Atkins
E: info@support4sight.org.uk
7 May – Oldham
Oldham Council
The Link Centre
140 Union St
Oldham OL1 1DZ
T: 0161 770 4799
Contact: Dennis Whitfield
E: dennis.whitfield@oldham.gov.uk

12 May – Weston Supermare
Vision North Somerset
3 Neva Road
Weston Supermare
BS23 1YD
T: 01934 419393
Contact: Celia Henshall
E: celia.henshall@visionns.org.uk

14 May – Leeds
Leeds City College
5 Roundhay Road
Leeds LS7 3BG
T: 0113 249 4912
Contact: Ann Brook
E: ann.brook@leedscitycollege.ac.uk

19 May – Bedale, North Yorkshire
Bedale Hall ICT Suite
Bedale Hall
Bedale
North Yorkshire
DL8 1AA
Contact: Lawrence Player
T: 01609 536980
E: Lawrence.Player@northyorks.gov.uk

19 May – Southampton
Southampton Sight
3 Basset Avenue
Southampton
SO16 7DP
T: 02380 769 882
Contact: Mandy
support@southamptonsight.co.uk

24 May – Sheffield
Sheffield Royal Society for the Blind
5 Mappin Street
Sheffield
S1 4DT
T: 0114 2722757
Contact: Steve Ambleton
E: steve@srsb.org.uk

3 June – Birmingham
National Blind Children’s Society
Shorton House
792 Hagley Road West
Birmingham B68 0PJ
Contact: Lucy Winton
T:  07837237611
E: lucy.winton@nbcs.org.uk